Skip to content

Canadian Independent Fish Harvester's Federation Meets in Halifax

January 10, 2017

The Canadian Independent Fish Harvester’s Federation Annual General Meeting was held in Halifax January 5 to 6, 2017. Representing FFAW-Unifor were harvesters Glen Newbury and Tony Doyle, as well as Secretary-Treasurer David Decker, Inshore Director Bill Broderick and Projects Coordinator Dwan Street.

The meeting’s agenda focused on the next steps in pushing for stronger enforcement of the Owner Operator and Fleet Separation policies, with the goal of seeing the policies enshrined in the Fisheries Act. Updates from all provinces made it clear that we are at a pivotal time in all of our fisheries and we must continue to push DFO, Members of Parliament and the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, to ensure the independence of our fishing fleets is maintained. The benefits of our fisheries must flow into the hands of independent harvesters and their coastal communities, not into corporate coffers.

The meeting concluded with the election of the Board of Directors. Melanie Sonnenberg of the Grand Manan Fishermen’s Association was elected President, following after the tragic passing of President Christian Brun on December 5, 2016. FFAW-Unifor’s David Decker was elected Treasurer and Dwan Street and Robert Keenan were elected to the Board of Directors.