Women’s Advocate Program | FFAW-Unifor | Fish Food & Allied Workers Union

Women’s Advocate Program

If you need support, reach out. You don’t have to be alone.

FFAW-Unifor has a well established Women’s Advocate Program with trained Women’s Advocates all over Newfoundland and Labrador. Women’s Advocates are not counsellors, but provide support and referrals to women in need.

To locate a shelter, visit THANL’s (Transition House Association of Newfoundland & Labrador) website at www.THANL.org.

24 hour Province-Wide Mental Health Crisis Phone Line:
Tel: (709) 737-4668     Toll-free: 1-888-737-4668

Scroll below to find a Women’s Advocate near you:

Labrador

Vicki Morris

LFUSCL Charlottetown, Labrador

Tel: 709-949-0343

Email: vickipaulinerussell@hotmail.com


Northern Peninsula

Candace Francis

OCI Port au Choix

Tel: 709-861-8068

Email: candacehamlynfrancis@hotmail.com

Jayne Caines

FRC Office, Port au Choix

Tel: 709-847-4356

Tel: 709-847-7732

Email: Jcaines1@hotmail.com

Manette McLean

Lobster Technician, FFAW-Unifor

Tel: 709-456-7009

Email: Eldamanettemclean@hotmail.com


West and South Coast

Mildred Skinner

Harbour Breton & Area

Tel: 709-885-2567

Tel: 709-571-2277

Email: skinnermildred@hotmail.com

Joan Doucette

St. George’s and Area

Tel: 709-647-3081

Email: jed-ems@hotmail.com

Ruby Sheppard

Supervisor, Fish Harvesters’ Resource Centre

Tel: 709-632-6423

Tel: 709-681-2854

Email: rsheppard@nf.sympatico.ca

Brenda Pieroway

Corner Brook & Area

Tel: 709-634-0277

Tel: 709-632-6861

Email: bpieroway@ffaw.net


Central/North East Coast

Della Melendy

Beothic Fish and Lumsden Area

Tel: 709-530-2657

Email: della.melendy@hotmail.com

Sheila Howell

Beothic Fish and Lumsden Area

Tel: 709-536-9853

Email: howell_sheilas@yahoo.ca

Flora Mills

Notre Dame Fisheries and Comfort Cove Area

Email: peoni2000@yahoo.ca

Linda Woodford

Twillingate/New World Island Area

Tel: 709-628-7825

Tel: 709-884-6088

Email: lindag.woodford@gmail.com

Nancy Bowers

Beachside Area

Tel: 709-668-1576

Email: nancy_bowers@hotmail.com

Doretta Strickland

OCI Triton

Tel: 709-263-2308

Email: doretta1958@gmail.com


Burin Peninsula

Cathy Dimmer

Burin and Area

Tel: 709-277-2558

Email: cathy.dimmer@persona.ca

Karen Caines

OCI Fortune

Tel: 709-832-4719

Email: karcaines@gmail.com

Marie Grandy

OCI Fortune

Tel: 709-832-5102

Email: mandcgrandy@hotmail.com

Bonavista Peninsula

Ocean Choice International and Bonavista Area

Tel: 709-468-0066

Email: Doreen_street@hotmail.com


Avalon Peninsula

Alyse Stuart

Tel: 709-770-1343

Tel: 709-576-7276

Email: astuart@ffaw.ca

Dwan Street

Tel: 709-770-1343

Tel: 709-576-7276

Email: dstreet@ffaw.net

Jackie Baker

Tel: 709-576-7276

Tel: 709-764-4646

Email: jbaker@ffaw.net

Tina Pretty

Tel: 709-576-7276

Tel: 709-728-2168

Email: tpretty@ffaw.net

Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Sign up for Unifor Local’s monthly newsletter and stay up to date with information from around the union and industry.